Anton Delecca Quartet, Jazzhead (HEAD084)

Purchase from Jazzhead



"Delecca, Howard, Zion and Farrugia have made one of the finest tenor quartet albums I have heard this year – animal strong and caress soft, fiery yellow and cool blue. It is a jazz format that is one of the most satisfying of all within the canon, and they do it so well. So well, in fact, that they deserve your ears. They already have mine."
John Hardaker, Nov 7th, 2013,

"A truly beautiful and thoughtful album, and unquestionably deserving of our album of the week here at Eastside Radio."
Chelsea Deeley, Dec 17th, 2013, East Side FM

The Healer features ten tracks of refined emotional force, there are seven originals from Delecca, one from bassist Jonathan Zion and two standards: “Love for Sale” and “Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered”. The album was recorded at Melbourne’s premiere studio, Sing Sing in November 2012 over two days. The album features the quartet’s new pianist Luke Howard playing a beautiful Kawai Shigeru concert grand piano alongside the powerhouse duo of Daniel Farrugia and Jonathan Zion. Cover art by Hoof Art & Design. Download press release.

Anton Delecca Quartet, Jazzhead (HEAD120)

Purchase from Jazzhead

"Newcomers pianist Marc Hannaford, bassist Jonathan Zion and Daniel Farrugia on drums bring an album's worth of talent. The style is modern mainstream with a strong groove driven by Farrugia's powerfully informed kit. Catalyst adds guest Elvis Aljus on congas for a satisfying striding-out piece, with Delecca displaying an ability to sustain the horn well, high up in the harmonics."
John McBeath, Weekend Australian Review, March 6-7 2010

"There’s a cool elegance, complexity and delicacy of touch to tenor saxophonist Delecca’s second quartet album, but one track stands out. On Regulated, Delecca and Marc Hannaford on piano build excitement through barely suppressed tension, ably backed by Daniel Farrugia on drums and Jonathan Zion on acoustic bass. It’s gripping, draining and satisfying..............This contained outing offers melodic beauty (A Dog’s Tale, Lost City) and sustained intensity (Catalyst, Living With Weirdness)."
Roger Mitchell, Sunday Herald Sun, March 7th 2010

Lost City consists of eight compositions by Delecca and one by Will Poskitt (Blues Bungle) with material ranging from complex rhythmic and harmonic explorations to simple, folk inspired pieces. Featuring the indomitable talents of Marc Hannaford: piano, Daniel Farrugia: drums, Jonathan Zion: acoustic bass, with Elvis Aljus playing congas on Catalyst. Cover art by Kano172. Download press release.

Anton Delecca Quartet, Jazzhead (HEAD082)

Purchase from Jazzhead

8 stars “Built around the luscious and fluid, boppish lines of Delecca’s playing, the quartet is a mainstream jazz fan’s delight, sounding vital and fresh and invested with classic values of cohesion and drive………This is a confident and classy album, genuinely creative even while firmly situated within known territory.”
Shane Nichols, After Hours, Australian Financial Review.

“I think both Delecca’s soprano and tenor playing on this CD is a real delight, his compositional abilities have a lot going for them too. He knows how to give songs a shape but not overburden them with too many distractions………..Whether in a mellow or assertive mood, the whole ensemble reels off a series of gorgeous, compelling sections.”
Craig Pearce, Drum Media.

Flow features the original quartet’s rhythm section, consisting of Mark Fitzgibbon: piano, Dave Beck: drums, and Matt Clohesy: acoustic bass. Javier Fredes guests, playing congas on The Operator. Recorded August/September 2001.

Other Releases by Anton Delecca:

The Situationists, Jazzhead (HEAD126)

Purchase from Jazzhead

"Something gives Melbourne a film-noir vibe, a darkness and suspense to propel the city's music. In The Situationists' sonic world, space is a dangerous place, where lonely saxophones flit between the shadows."
John Shand, Sydney Morning Herald

The Situationists feature Jonathan Zion: acoustic and electric bass, Craig Fermanis: guitar, Mike Guy: piano, Joe Talia: drums and Jules Goyma: percussion. After being awarded an arts grant by Arts Victoria, the band produced their debut self titled album. The album was recorded in one day, on March 12th 2004.